[Story] Imralion’s Journal

I’ve enlisted with the Blood Knights here. It wasn’t too difficult, and my old captain wrote a letter which hopefully helped. In a weird way I’ll miss him, and the other guys there, maybe just because it’s familiar. But I like being back in the city too — at least during the day. I’ll admit that I prefer the quiet of the countryside in the evenings. We’ve been staying at the school, which isn’t exactly that quiet, especially since Hethurin’s injury. I still don’t know all the details of what happened, but he has some broken bones as well as arcane burns. They’re not fel burns, as far as I know. I have to hope that Aeramin would tell me if that were the case.

He came down last night into the dining room, even though he’s supposed to stay up in his room. I really can’t blame him, it’s got to be boring having to stay in there all the time. It’s only been a week or so, but he’s already read all of the books. Des and I both suggested that he should send someone to get more, but he says he’s really picky. I guess a list of titles wouldn’t work, or something. He kept complaining about the food too, like he was trying to argue that eggs are the same as chicken meat so eating cake should count as food because there’s eggs in cake. I don’t understand how he can turn up his nose at Tik’s food, it’s so good! You should see the stuff we had to eat in Kalimdor! By comparison, Tik’s food is like it was blessed by the Light itself. He made this chicken that had crumbled nuts on it, over some rice. It was really good. I mean, the cake was great too but I  liked both. I personally think I’d get tired of eating only cake all the time.

Aeramin was talking about what needs to be done on the house. The tar for the roof is supposed to get here tomorrow, I’m really not looking forward to that. If the smell wasn’t bad enough, it gets all over your clothes and ruins everything. And if it’s hot, it gets all melted and squooshy and you leave tracks all over. I keep hoping it’ll rain so I don’t have to do it, but I know eventually I will. I think it’s better if we hire someone to do the pipes, because neither of us really know what we’re doing. Aeramin insists that we don’t need a separate room for the sinks but he doesn’t know what it’s like in the morning when he’s taking forever on his hair and I need to go. Thankfully Hethurin had my back on that one. He knows what it’s like! I thought we could just put a mirror in our room, but Aeramin says he needs a sink too. I don’t honestly know what he does in there that takes that long, I just brush mine most days, I might tie it back if it’s a little unruly but that’s it.

He was talking about magic to another guy too, he must be the new student that Hethurin mentioned. He’s a bit old for a student though and he seems to already know a lot about magic. They were talking about getting some of the broken down arcane guardians from outside the city. I don’t really think that’s legal, but they’re right in that I don’t think anyone is going to try to stop them. The mage thought it would be a good practice for the students. I don’t know, it sounds pretty dangerous. But then I guess it’s good incentive not to mess up, right? I mean, the mages will all be right there so they could step in if something happened. But I’m glad I’m not a mage student.

Not that killing demons is much safer, though.

Leave a Reply

