[Story] Morthorn’s Notes

I had a visit from Orledin this evening. It was nice to see him again, though I know he was nervous about coming into town. He had covered his head with his cloak, which admittedly was a good idea. Normally, I don’t think many people pay much attention to who comes in and out of the building, and it was fairly late in the day as well. I’m so pleased that he seems to be working well with the other rangers, from what I’ve heard from him and others. They’ve accepted him as well as can be expected — maybe even better because of the baking he does for them. I asked if he might bring some cookies by that we could put in the waiting room, and he agreed. I’m sure everyone will enjoy those. He was upset about trying to find a companion, evidently he thought some of the other rangers might dance with him and was disappointed when they danced with the girls instead. I did suggest perhaps trying to discuss it with them, but he’s reasonably certain that they’re not interested anyway. In that case, it’s probably better to avoid embarrassment and look elsewhere. I’ve never been in that position, but it must not be easy trying to discern whether someone is interested like that or not. It took me ages, and that was with a girl! I was realistic, but honest: I do believe it might be possible. While I’ve never met anyone, there are rumors of those who stayed with a partner after they were raised. This is quite a bit more difficult though, as they would be meeting him in that condition. He has his little kitten, from the cats at the school, and I do believe that helps a great deal. The little fellow is already quite attached to him, and follows him around. Orledin named it “Pancat”, which is a strange name but I’m sure the kitten doesn’t mind it.

I have not seen Hethurin recently, I hope to be able to soon. Lani says he’s awake more often now, so maybe I should call on him there in case he’s not able to travel. The details I’ve heard are conflicting and really none of them make much sense. I’m concerned that he might be inventing things — or may truly believe them. I do know that something did happen in Vaildor’s room that night, and I don’t know what it was. So perhaps there’s some truth to it after all? I can’t say for sure. Regardless, I know that Vaildor is upset by what happened and feels conflicted about not going with Sanimir. Hethurin must surely be feeling the same way. Vaildor’s studies seem to be going well, he’s enthusiastic about attending art school but he dislikes his other lessons still. He was talking to Des about that. He also has the strange idea that he’ll make lots of gold and have multitudes of girlfriends. I have no idea where he got that from, certainly not Lani and I! I tried to make him understand that a true partner will love you regardless of how much you have (or don’t have), but I don’t think he quite grasped my point. He’s far too young to be thinking about that anyway! I was more than a hundred years older than him before I met my first wife.

I’d also hoped to speak with the new ranger, the priest that he’d seen previously sent me a note. I suppose they’ve been busy with everything going on, as well as his surgery. I hope he’ll come to see me soon, otherwise I may have to make a visit to the ranger building myself.

Leave a Reply

