[Story] Fairsong Academy – Maerista’s Journal

I passed! I’m officially a Magistrix now! I was so nervous I thought I was going to die though. I’ve been doing extra practice with Magister Raleth after classes for the last few weeks. I wasn’t able to get much help from Keyalenn; honestly I think he wanted to help but he’s been too busy worrying about Lin, the ranger. He actually bought her a ring, can you believe that? I mean it’s always a risk that someone might so no but in his case it was a really huge risk. Magister Firewind went with me. I was glad he was there, it helped me feel a bit less nervous, like I knew at least I’d do well on the fire parts, and I remembered the little tips he gave me. And Gael was there too. I’m so thankful, he didn’t have to at all and it was so sweet of him. He doesn’t know about magic at all, but he wanted to be there to wait anyway. He said that Orledin was taking two patrols so he was able to go, and I thought we should buy him a gift. Gael said he likes baking, so we got some fancy baking tins at the shop. They’re shaped like different things, there are little tart pans that look like flowers and stars, and a cake pan that’s got a hole in the center and fancy designs on the sides. I hope he likes them! And then he can make cakes for all of the rangers. I still think it’s a little scary to have undead people there, but I guess they all don’t mind him — and according to Gael he’s a very good cook. I hope I’ll find out tomorrow!

As for the test itself, I went inside the spire and they have a special room just for testing. Another apprentice was having his test today too, he looked as if he was really nervous too! I think he may also have written some things on the inside of his sleeve. At least I didn’t do that. The mage giving the test wasn’t one that I knew, I was hoping it might be someone from my old school or something, but it wasn’t. I couldn’t tell he was thinking at all. He had a little notepad and write things down every once in a while. First he gave me the written exam, that’s fortunately a lot easier because it’s just studying — which I’d done plenty of. I had taken extra time to study the arcane and frost sections because I knew I’d need to, and I feel like I did pretty well on those. I put my quill down when I was finished and the instructor wrote something else down. He had me go over to a table with different magical equipment and he asked me to do all kinds of different things: conjure an ice sphere, a blue flame, polymorph the little bird in a cage into a frog. Things like that. I don’t even remember everything, I was too busy trying to make sure I got all the spells right and make sure none of them were trick questions! Magister Firewind says that sometimes they do that, in order to try to mess you up. I don’t think any of them were, at least I hope not. I really couldn’t tell from the instructor’s expression at all. He just kept writing in that little book. They put me into another little room to wait for the test to be scored. I guess that’s so I can’t tell the people who are waiting what is about to happen. A different mage came in (this one was an older woman) and she handed me a paper and she said that I had passed. I couldn’t believe it! I feel so relieved! I ran outside to tell Gael and Magister Firewind. He headed back to the school, and we went to dinner to celebrate. I mean, we were going to go out for dinner either way but it was a lot more festive now! I couldn’t stop smiling. The restaurant was really fancy, Gael said he’d written ahead for reservations, so he must have been planning it for some time. He’s so thoughtful! I was a little worried because we should be saving money for the house and wedding and everything, but I suppose it is a special occasion. It isn’t every day that you pass your magister’s qualifications! It was so romantic too, they had little candles at the table and enchanted instruments playing music. I couldn’t stop looking at his ears. I asked if he had to be back tonight, since Orledin had taken his patrol. I know, it was probably very improper but we’ll be married soon won’t we? He suggested that we find an inn in  Eversong, they’re a little more quiet as well as being a lot cheaper, and it would be a shorter trip home for both of us in the morning.

I’ve read a lot of those books, but I think it was even better than that. I love him so much, and being able to just rest beside him was just as good as the other part, I think. And I could finally touch his ears! They’re so perfect. It’s scary to think that we almost weren’t together at all, he said he was too shy to talk at the parties, so it’s a good thing I followed Xarola’s idea to take them a cake. He said he could tell then because I was looking at him. I certainly was! Anyway, I hope no one noticed that I wasn’t at the school last night, but we’re engaged so it should be allowed. I can finally start planning everything now that I don’t have to study anymore. It feels wonderful to be able to write that! It can’t be a really big wedding, since I’m sure that my parents aren’t going to help pay for it. But I already have my dress, that’s the most important part. Gael was funny, he asked if he should go to the tailor’s! I said he should wear his armor, since it shows how strong and brave he is. But he did say he’ll get it shined and polished up. It’s going to look so handsome!

 

Leave a Reply

