[Story] The Ghostclaw – Linarelle’s Journal

What a strange couple of days it’s been. I’m not even sure where to start, I guess the first thing that happened is that Sunashe is getting a new foot. They approved his request and they even sent him some kind of certificate for bravery or something. It’s made him even more insufferable than usual, he’s asking everyone if they have seen it. Still, I think it’ll probably improve everyone’s mood to have him on patrol rather than hanging around the building all day. He said that Perothis and Vellira were ready to go out, which surprised me a little. Not that I disagree, I just didn’t expect him to say it because of how he is when they practice. Most of the time Vellira won’t even use her bow unless you’re standing right there watching the entire time. She seems just as accurate with her daggers so I personally don’t see a problem with it, but knowing how to shoot a bow is pretty important for a ranger. It’s always good to have options.

So we’re all just sitting around eating dinner when Keyalenn shows up at the door. I should have listened to my first instinct and not let him in, but I guess I didn’t want to be rude. I thought I was pretty clear about things last time when I told him he was too young, but evidently not. He asked me to marry him. In front of everyone. I wanted to just die! Where did he even get the money for a ring? I hope he didn’t spend all his school money again. As if that wasn’t bad enough, all the other rangers seemed to find it hilarious. I’m so glad my horrible personal life is entertaining for someone, at least. I told him I was sorry, but I couldn’t marry him. I mean really… what did he think I was going to say? He said the corniest stuff too, something about wet lotus flowers and the sun and moon. I don’t know. I drank a lot of wine so I wouldn’t remember.

Sunashe got on me about that too. Like I don’t know that drinking too much is bad. But I think under circumstances like that, it’s understandable! Vellira and I ended up talking about it later and she suggested that we go into town to look for a guy. You know, to hire. I obviously had had too much to drink because somehow I agreed to it. The idea seemed a lot better at the time, I guess. We both wore dresses — to look respectable but actually I think it’s so people wouldn’t recognize us. Are there really guys you can hire in Murder Row? The answer is yes, yes there are. Vellira found a couple and started talking to them, she just came right out and asked how much it would cost. I think she was actually considering hiring one of them, I don’t know. I mean they were okay, they were good looking but they definitely weren’t as fit as the rangers. And it all felt kind of gross. And then they kept talking about their “clients” and I thought about how many girls (and guys) they must have done things with… eww. I guess if you just want something physical it’d be okay, but that’s not it. I could hire them to talk but that’d be weird, and it would still be fake anyway. I got us out of there before Vellira could hire them to do stuff with each other, which she was in the middle of negotiating.

The guys asked where we’d been and we said we had been shopping. Well, that was actually true, technically. Then Sunashe says it’s not shopping if you don’t buy anything. What is his problem? There were flowers in the kitchen, I saw them when I went to get more muffins but I just assumed they were from Keyalenn. Then Ty said something about them being from someone else, and I thought maybe he’d decided to try again. Actually, Sunashe got them. He wants me to dance with him at the captain’s wedding. I don’t know why he couldn’t have just asked then, I mean we’re all going to be there. I don’t really know how he’ll be able to dance with a fake foot but I suppose we’ll see. He said I didn’t have to answer yet, and I didn’t. But I doubt there are going to be many other options, and it’s just a dance anyway. I just don’t understand why he’d do that, especially right after what happened yesterday. I mean, he was there. He was laughing too. We did talk about other things a little. I told him about Im and he agrees that he ought to leave Aeramin. I thought maybe he could talk some sense into him, but he says he doesn’t know Im. Oh well.

 

Leave a Reply

