[Story] Fairsong Academy – Terellion’s Journal

I messed up really bad, but I didn’t even know that I was doing it. Everyone at the school’s been talking about “the fever” which means getting married and stuff. Des has everything planned out in detail, even though she and Perothis aren’t engaged yet. She was telling us about it at dinner, she wants six layers on her cake all with different fillings and she wants a carriage with six white hawkstriders to ride in. Where in the world is she going to get six white hawkstriders! I hope her parents have a lot of money. The one person who should actually be talking about wedding stuff is Mae, and she hasn’t been, at least to me. She’s just been studying really hard so she’ll be able to pass her exam. Maybe after that she’ll start talking about what kind of shoes to get and stuff.

Des and Hethurin were talking about the next one here, which most likely will be Mae’s anyway, and he was saying that we should hire someone new to help decorate. I couldn’t figure out why, because Tik and I have a decent amount of decorating experience at this point — we’ve done two balls and a wedding, and Tik helped with the other wedding. So it’s not like we’re amateurs really. Hethurin kept talking about the bows like I was tying them wrong. Believe me, my bows look great, so I really was confused about why he’d say that. Besides, as far as I know Mae’s is still a ways off, we don’t need to hire anyone yet. Then Des starts talking about Hethurin and me having one — that is news to me! He swears he didn’t tell her to bring it up, but then he admitted that he’d been thinking about it a lot. I guess that’s the reason he’s been extra nice lately. I thought it was just because he wanted to, but he was trying to convince me to ask him. I’d never even thought about that! I know everyone would say we’re way too young, especially my mom. Hethurin says I’m old enough to make decisions like that but I don’t really feel like I am sometimes, you know? If my dad was still here I wouldn’t have had to get a job and I’d still be at home living with them. It’s hard to explain. I do know I want to stay here, but I guess I hadn’t thought about it too much beyond that. But now he’s all disappointed and I don’t know what to do about it. Or worse, if I do want to later on he’s going to think it’s because we talked about it and not that it was my own idea. I don’t think talking about things it bad at all, but I guess he wanted it to be a surprise, which I can understand. I’m worried that he’ll keep being upset about it and it’ll cause problems, and I don’t know how to fix it.

I didn’t think it was possible for guys to get the fever!

Leave a Reply

