[OOC] Ten Years, Ten Questions

One of my friend’s blogs posted these, and I thought they’d be fun too. Here’s the link, if you want to answer them!

http://www.alternative-blog.net/2014/08/10-years-10-questions-official-launch.html

Behind a cut for length!

1. Why did you start playing Warcraft?

I grew up with video games/RPGs – things like Dragon Warrior, Final Fantasy. In high school I was way into playing D&D with my friends, I was also a pretty prolific writer — mostly fantasy. So WoW seemed like something I’d definitely be into. The question asks “Warcraft” though, which I didn’t actually play until after I started playing WoW. I had played StarCraft at a friend’s house before, though.

2. What was the first ever character you rolled?

Tahanah, a Tauren Druid. She still exists, though she’s since been faction changed and is now Tathariel, Ornasse’s daughter. But not to worry, I have other Tauren druids to take her place! Since these were the days before faction changes, I rolled a new druid on Alliance who became my new main.

3. Which factors determined your faction choice in game?

I knew absolutely nothing about WoW lore or races or factions when I started. I picked druid because I liked playing healing classes, and the idea of turning into animals sounded really cool. I picked the walking cow because I thought it was hilarious, to be honest. After several months of playing, I tried out Alliance because I wanted a paladin, and I was a convert. I’m about 50/50 these days (I like to call myself bi-factional), but I do like more of the lore and races on Alliance. And the buildings.

4. What has been your most memorable moment in Warcraft and why?

That’s a tough one! Raiding as a team through Cataclysm and defeating all of the bosses while current was really cool for me, as I’ve not really had much chance to do so during my WoW career. I loved our tight-knit little group and was really sad when it fell apart. There have been tons of great RP moments (see next question!). I guess I’ll pick one from our raiding group: finishing our Dragon Soul meta drakes as a team together. That same group also ran tons of old content, we got our ICC and Ulduar drakes too!

5. What is your favourite aspect of the game and has this always been the case?

Roleplaying! For sure. I would probably not play this game if not for the amazing and awesome RP friends I have made over the years. If you are feeling bored with the game in general, RP may be just the thing you are looking for. It gives the quests and storylines so much more depth to experience them though your character’s eyes, rather than your own.

But aside from that, I casually enjoy all aspects of the game. I like leveling/questing, I enjoy raiding casually with friends, and I enjoy a battleground from time to time.

6. Do you have an area in game that you always return to?

Like favorite zones? I tend to always level in the same zones, kind of out of habit or to avoid annoying quests. My Alliance always level in Eastern Kingdoms and my Horde in Kalimdor, for convenience.

Our RP group tends to use the same zones for a long time until we have to move — like Dalaran! For a time we were in Shattrath, these days we’re mostly in the Ghostlands. Personally, I’ve always found Moonglade very peaceful, and as a druid it was always our “secret clubhouse” retreat.

7. How long have you /played and has that been continuous?

1/31/2006. Yes, always continuous. Not quite ten years yet!

8. Admit it: do you read quest text or not?

The first time through, yes.

9. Are there any regrets from your time in game?

I regret wasting my time with bad guilds and bad guild masters. I mean bad in the sense of making my time in-game unhappy and stressful, in both cases I stayed for my friends — who would have been my friends regardless of what guild I was in. Please don’t let a guild or guild master dictate what you can do or with whom you can do it, especially in something as open-ended as an RP guild.

10. What effect has Warcraft had on your life outside gaming?

My sleep schedule, mainly, haha. Sometimes I’ll procrastinate on chores because I’m distracted by the game, but I think I’m pretty good about juggling real life with it. It has been really good inspiration for writing and art — as you can probably see if you follow this blog! I’ve also met some really great friends through the game, and I wouldn’t want to give that up.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 211 other followers

