[Story] The Ghostclaw – Linarelle’s Journal

I don’t think the captain read my report at all. Or he did, and completely ignored it. He let Sunashe stay, right now he’s helping with shooting practice, but it’s totally gone to his head. On one hand I see where he’s coming from, and he’s right — we all should be prepared and able to deal with any threat that might arise here. But on the other hand, we’re in the Ghostlands, and right now things are pretty quiet. I think if he’d ease up a little, the others would like him more. I was surprised that not even Gael likes him very much, mostly because of how he acts at practice. I guess that’s probably why I don’t have much opinion yet, though I’m sure he could find something wrong with my technique if he wanted to. Supposedly he’s going to be getting his surgery soon, so maybe that will improve his mood. Or at least he’ll be out in the woods where only one person has to listen to him.

Gael and I were able to talk a little during dinner. I told him I thought it was a  bad idea to get involved with a mage, and that it was a bit too soon. Of course he was as stubborn as ever, but he couldn’t explain just how he knew it would work out. The truth is, I don’t think he does, he just really hopes that it will. Because I’ve been in that situation plenty of times, but hoping won’t make it so. I don’t doubt that they like each other, I just think there will be too many differences down the line. Like when he leaves his muddy boots in the entryway after patrol. He swears he won’t, but when you’re exhausted it’s easy to forget. He said he was glad things worked out the way they did, wow thanks a lot. According to him it never would have worked anyway. I didn’t say anything, but I guess we’ll never know now. That seems to be a recurring theme with me: I’m always just a little too late. It happened with Aeramin too. We talked about Ty and I explained how it wasn’t like that, I didn’t have that feeling that everything would work out and be perfect. I also mentioned how Ty was chasing after Lani not that long ago. He didn’t seem to see anything wrong with that. I have a feeling if it was Mae who was chasing after different people, he might see my point. I said it seemed like Ty only likes me because I’m the only girl here, but that’s not the case anymore. I guess I will see soon enough. Gael says I’m being too critical, so I should rather be with someone I don’t really love? I’m not going to do that. Then he mentioned the kid at school. I’m pretty sure he was just messing with me at that point.

I hope Mae does divorce him for leaving mud all over the house.

Leave a Reply

