[OOC] List of Garrison Perks

I pinkie swear this is my last post on the topic until something major changes! But I came across these patch notes last night and I wanted to share them, in the interest of fairness. This is a build from eight days ago, and lists many of the garrison building perks. You can read it here: http://www.wowhead.com/news=241393/wod-build-18471-modelviewer-updated-with-wod-character-models-death-knight-tier-  The information about garrisons is down near the bottom. I’m not going to list them all, but I did want to talk about a couple.

Mage Tower: Enables instant travel to strategic points in Draenor!

For RP purposes, the Mage Tower is the one building I really want. I saw screenshots of the Alliance one, and it looked really nice — the walls were lined with books and it looked like a great place for our RP school. I haven’t seen the Horde one but I have to hope it’s similar. From what I’ve read, you will have outposts in the various zones, these portals will probably take you to those. Which isn’t bad, I guess, it could be pretty useful if there are dailies and you need to get there quickly. If the mage tower is usable for RP, I’m pretty excited about it. Sadly I’m thinking it probably won’t happen, because garrisons use phasing. Any other time two party members are in different phases, they aren’t able to interact with each other (for RP — in /say and /emote). I think it would be a pretty large technical hurdle to move all party members onto the same phase. Granted, I’m not a programmer, but it’s just my feeling that we won’t be able to invite people for technical reasons.

Armory: Allows the collection of armor scraps from the Orc clans of Draenor for armor transmogrification.

Okay, this is a cool perk. I’m going to take a guess that they’ll eventually make Draenei versions (um… right? Right??!). Chasing after unique transmog armor sets is definitely something that interests me, especially if it’s mega-cool Draenei sets that can’t be found anywhere else. The orc ones look cool, it’s just that well, none of my characters want to look like orcs.

Fishing Shack: Allows small Draenor fish to be caught in Garrison waters and provides access to daily Fishing quest.

There are a lot of similar perks to these, for professions. I am happy about the removal of profession buffs, because then they felt mandatory (especially for raiding) but I guess I’m kind of confused about garrisons providing professions without needing to have the profession. Why do we have them at all now? And I thought they were removing flying so we could be “out in the world”. If I can fish from my Garrison, I’m not out in the world. Personally, these profession buffs don’t do much for me. I have an army of alts with professions, and I never seem to be low on materials.

Trading Post: Unlocks access to the Shattari Defense or Laughing Skull factions up to the Honored level. 

This concerns me a little bit. From the wording, it sounds like you can only access these factions from your Garrison. I like to complete every rep possible on my main, both for the mounts/rewards and in case there’s another x Exalted Reputations reward in Warlords. I really don’t like that it’s tied to my Garrison. Maybe I’m wrong and there’s another way to get it, we’ll see.

Workshop: Your Engineer now grants you access to a jet pack.

Kinda cool, I guess? Not something I’d personally really use, but.

Sparring Arena: Enables unlimited underwater breathing and safe fall in outdoor Draenor zones.

Hahahaha, seriously? Okay. Well I think that’s a building most people won’t pick anyway, it seems to offer PVP-type rewards.

As much as I (really) don’t want to, I’ll probably have to end up fully finishing one on each faction — for Ornasse to do his rep/collect transmog items. (That’s assuming they are bnet-bound, if they’re not then all my draenei will have to do them and then I just won’t bother). I’ll build up one on Hordeside so we can RP there if that ever happens, most likely Sath because he could host the rangers. And of all my characters, he’s probably the least likely to be annoyed at being called “Commander”.

 

Leave a Reply

