[Story] The Ghostclaw – Linarelle’s Journal

Before patrol, I’ve been helping to train the new girl. She’s a fast learner at least, and she seems to really want to get better. The first day she showed me how she could throw knives — impressive, but not really what we need. Still, it could come in handy in a tricky situation. She’s a bit more talkative than the guys, which I don’t mind honestly. I don’t see Im much anymore now that he’s in Shattrath, and the guys are… guys. I like her well enough, I just get the feeling that they’re all looking at her now. At least the captain made her change that shirt thing she was wearing.

Ty hasn’t said a word about the wedding. Nessna told the captain that we’re all invited, so he must know. Maybe he’s waiting, or something. I wish I could be as excited about it as the other girls seem to be. Des and Xarola up at the school couldn’t stop talking about it, what their dresses would look like and what the cake would be like. All I can think about is the fact that it’s probably not going to happen, at least not for a really long time. Even if it does, I don’t have any parents to pay for a big expensive party anyway. At least there will be good food, hopefully. They did say the builders might be there, I mean they live there after all. They didn’t know if they’re married or not, Des said he didn’t mention it but that doesn’t mean he isn’t. A lot of married guys forget to mention that. I guess I’ll see what happens, he can’t dance with Maerista because she’s going with Gael. He is awfully smug about that too, of course.

It’s weird having the undead from the ziggurat around. He doesn’t understand instructions very well, you have to tell him a few times. And even then, you can’t give him more than one step. You can say “pick up the branches from the yard” but if you ask him to pile them up in one spot he’ll probably forget. You have to wait until he’s picked them all up and then tell him what to do next. I do wonder what he was like when he was alive, I mean obviously he was a different person then. Does he remember it at all? He was a human, as far as I can tell. I wonder what happened to him. Will the same thing happen to Orledin and Sorrowmoss eventually? I guess it must. That must be scary, to know it’ll happen and not be able to do anything about it.

I should go up to the school for dinner more often. I mean, it’s not that the captain’s cooking is bad, it’s just that Tik’s is a lot better. Though I admit the spider legs were pretty good. I think the girls were both horrified when I told them about it. I was at first too, but when I tried them they actually weren’t bad, it tasted like crab. Honestly I think they would have gone over better if he’d told us what they were after, but it was kind of hard to hide the fact you’re eating a giant spider leg. He said the night elves eat them all the time, because they have a lot of spiders there. Except theirs are hairy and you have to scorch the hair off first. That’s kind of gross. The girls and I got to talking about what would happen if we ever were to meet some night elves in the forest. I really don’t know. I don’t really care to find out.

Leave a Reply

