[Story] Fairsong Academy – Maerista’s Journal

I don’t know how I’m going to write the letter to my parents. I did really awful in Frost! My Arcane grade was not too bad, and I did well in Fire (as I expected) but I had no idea how I messed up my Frost exam that badly. So now my overall grade isn’t good at all. I mean, it’s passing but I know Father will say that I can do a lot better. I guess I’ll just have to study more, so it’s for the best that the rangers aren’t interested in girls at all. I wish Master Firewind could have given me some extra credit for teaching or something! Or maybe it did, but it wasn’t enough to make up for my awful Frost test. I hope that’s not the case. I mean, it’s just frozen water, how hard can it be?

Last night Lani was talking about going dress shopping. She wants Des and Xarola and I to be in her wedding, which I thought was a little strange because she hardly knows us. At least she hardly knows me. I thought she had a whole bunch of sisters who could be in it. I guess I’m excited about it, I’ve been to weddings of course but they were big fancy ones in the city. I really doubt Lani’s is going to be like that. I’ve never actually been in one though, I don’t have any sisters and none of my friends are married yet. It could be fun, I just hope Lani doesn’t pick a really awful ugly dress to make us wear. I don’t think she would, all of hers are pretty nice. Of course Des already knows everything about weddings; she helped Xyliah with her hair at the one here last year. But at least she admitted she hasn’t been in one either, I guess that’s something. She was trying to ask me what I’m doing on my break, I said I don’t know because I don’t think my family has anything planned. It’s not really long enough for a real holiday, and they’re having to pay for my school already. Des was talking about going to visit her guard, because she has to remind everyone about him. I did tell them about the rangers and how Xarola’s idea didn’t work. Lani said that I should bring one of the male students with me for like a test, but I think that would be kind of weird. First of all, I don’t have any excuse to go visit them again. Second, what in the world would I tell the boy? I really don’t want to go alone with any of them either. Maybe Renner, but he’s always busy and I think he’d be annoyed if I asked him something like that. And then he’d ask why, and I have no idea what I’d say. Neither Des nor Lani had any opinion on which ranger was cuter. I guess you’re not even allowed to look once you have someone, but I don’t see how you can avoid it really.

I’m definitely not putting any of that in my letter either. I hope they don’t freak out about my grades as it is. I hope summer classes won’t be too hard, the weather is warm and no one will want to stay inside for too long to study.

Leave a Reply

