[Story] Fairsong Academy – Terellion’s Journal

I’m not sure if things are better or not. Everyone kept bothering me to talk to Hethurin, even though he refused to talk to me. I don’t know how it was supposed to help. I wanted to ask Lani about whether I could work for her if Hethurin fired me. At first she said she didn’t need any cakes. That’s ridiculous, who doesn’t need cake? But then I explained that I meant I want to help on the building, and she said that would be okay. So at least I have a backup plan if things go badly. They tried to tell me that Hethurin wasn’t going on the trip with Renner because he liked him, but how would they know? They have private lessons every day, and they’re going on a trip together. Lani went to the study and checked on Hethurin and she said he was there alone and he wanted to talk to me. I figured he was going to finally fire me.

Instead he said he had been keeping something from me and he was finally going to be honest. I figured that’s when he was going to admit that he liked Renner. Instead he told me that Renner is actually his teacher, and he’s been learning chronomancy. (I’m pretty sure that means time magic.) He said his real name is Renzdormu, I said that was a pretty weird name. Renner is really a dragon, a bronze dragon. I don’t know if I really believe that or not, but Hethurin says he’s seen him change. I’m supposed to keep it a secret, but I have a lot of things I want to ask. Like does he breathe fire? Does he eat people? I didn’t know that dragons eat cake but they must because he eats almost as much as Hethurin does. I think that’s a pretty big secret to keep from someone, though I do see his point. If everyone knew there was a dragon here they would freak out and not allow their students to come here. But then he started telling me a bunch of other things like how he laughed at a fat kid one time and wore his sister’s robe (that was kind of weird). He also told me about how he messed up a timeline with Aeramin’s father. I think that’s kind of a big one. He says he doesn’t want to have any more secrets, except he hasn’t really told me about why he changed his name. Then he asked if I had any secrets, but I couldn’t think of any. Maybe I should because I think he feels really bad about his. I could make one up that isn’t too bad, but I don’t know what. Maybe Mae can help me think of one, except I’m not supposed to talk about them anyway.

So I still don’t know if things are better, I mean, I don’t like having to lie for him. That doesn’t feel right to me. But I guess I’m glad that he told me. And at least he’s not sleeping on the couch, that helps too. But I still don’t really know what’s going on with the portal thing, or with Vaildor. I think if we talk about it again I’m just going to get upset again. He said he’s working on being able to take me, but it might not be possible. If I’d studied magic I bet he’d take me. It’s so confusing though. I should at least learn enough to be able to stop dangerous spells though, like a spellbreaker. But I don’t know who could teach me things like that. Do dragons know how? But I’m supposed to pretend I don’t know he’s a dragon, or something. Maybe it’s okay if I’m only talking to him.

Leave a Reply

