[Story] Morthorn’s Notes

There’s no going back now, it’s really going to happen. I mean, eventually. Everyone knows now though, so I can’t back out. I went and met with her father in the city. He was still moving into his new office, there were crates everywhere. I suppose that’s what mine will look like soon. I wasn’t sure how to bring up the subject. We talked about Vaildor for a bit first, he apparently hadn’t any idea about it yet. I’m sure it was a great shock, but he didn’t show much emotion. He did say that he’d need to speak with Hethurin soon, and I agree with that. Lani does plan to bring Vaildor to visit soon, I think. Hopefully she asks if he’s willing to help pay for the school.

I asked about Lani’s mother still looking for a match for her. To me, that implies that either she doesn’t know that I was already seeing her, or she doesn’t think that I’m suitable. From what Isturon said, Lani had mentioned me to her before. So that answers that. I’m not really surprised, but I do wish Lani had perhaps been a bit more assertive about not needing her mother’s help. Isturon said that he’d approve of anyone that Lani chose. I don’t really see the point in asking for her father’s permission in that case. I expected that he’d ask a few questions, at least. Or maybe he’s already done his research. I don’t have anything to hide, and I doubt there would be much to find anyway. I’ve been living quietly in Tranquillien since the city fell. Isturon said that he trusted Lani’s judgment, and that I had the trust of all of my patients. I suppose that’s true, but it’s not really the same thing.

I was honest with him though. I expressed my concerns, and he suggested that I bring them up with her. I planned to, but I have no idea how I’m supposed to bring that up. I doubt she’ll even hear anything I say, she’ll be too embarrassed. She practically turns red at even the mention of ears, let alone anything else. Still, I don’t think I could go through with everything not knowing if she was even interested at all.

Lani was still out when I got to the school, she’d been at the building site. She says it’s coming along well. I should really begin going through all my things and throwing out what I don’t need. And I need to make certain that my files stay organized until I can get them into the drawers. I’m really looking forward to those, and my own desk. I don’t have room for a real one in my house now. I’m not sure what I will use that room for now, perhaps storage, or I could leave the bed for anyone who needs to stay overnight. I’ll also want to make sure the garden stays tended, otherwise the plants grow up too far and make it look unkempt.

I was nervous in the first place, and then Des was there and wanted to talk. I didn’t wish to be rude, but my mind was elsewhere. She remembered that she had studying to do, so maybe she understood that I had to speak to Lani alone. Hadn’t she ever thought about it? She said that she had, but never acted on those thoughts. I’ve spoken to a lot of different people, and I can’t think of one who has been able to resist all temptation for that long. She even went so far as to wear a hood at the worksite, so the workers wouldn’t look at her ears! I hope she doesn’t think that I expect that. I trust her, and I rather doubt the workers are going to do anything — especially her cousins. I am a bit worried how things might go at first, but I have to trust that it will turn out all right. I hope I’m making the right choice. She was so happy when I told her that I’d spoken to her father, that I think I did. She still didn’t touch my ears though.

I thought she might want to go to the jeweler’s together, but she said she’d rather it was a surprise. I mean it’s not really, but sort of. I have to think about a good place too. Maybe at the ball, but out in the garden and not in front of everyone — that would be too embarrassing. Of course I’m sure everyone at the school already knows by now.  I do want to talk to Vaildor. If he’s going to live with us, I’d like to know what his feelings are about it, though Lani says that he likes the idea. I’d rather hear it from him though.

 

 

Leave a Reply

