[Story] The Ghostclaw – Sath’alor’s Notes

I really thought I’d just had a really good dream when I woke up, except that she’d left a little note on the table. And I could smell just the faintest hint of the perfume that I’d got for her in the city. I actually thought the night was kind of a disaster, first of all she was already there when I got home. That’s not as weird as it sounds, I normally don’t lock the doors because sometimes the others need to get in, and Clementine would discourage any thieves or bats who came inside. I’d just come back from getting supplies, it took a little longer than usual because I’d stopped at the market to get the perfume. The man was really helpful, because I had no idea what kind to get — well that’s not true, I told him that she is a ranger and wouldn’t like anything really flowery. He let me smell one that he said would be perfect; it smells of trees, and the wind, and even a little hint of the sea. I have no idea how they’re able to get that all into a bottle, but they did. She said she liked it, and it smells really nice on her. I think she’d smell nice regardless, though.

Anyway I hadn’t even started dinner so I had to scramble to do that while she waited. I just did a simple roast, but I had some vegetables to go with it so I think it turned out okay. Orledin even made some bread, and some pastries for dessert. I was worried that one of the guys might sneak some, but thankfully they didn’t. I never know what to say when she’s there, like I plan it all out in my head but then when she’s actually sitting there the words get stuck. Or I realize how it’d sound and change my mind. I just wanted to tell her how much I’ve been thinking about her but I didn’t want to sound like a weirdo or worse, some desperate loser who’s just glad that a girl is finally talking to him. I know it can’t be easy for her to do this, I don’t think I could. I didn’t even look at anyone for the longest time after Kes and I split up, I know it’s not the same though. And like she said, not every will react in the same way. I just worry that she’ll compare us or something, I didn’t know Vessen very well but I know he had blond hair. What if she only likes me because we look kind of alike? Or worse, what if she’s thinking about him while we’re doing things? Or accidentally says his name or something? That would be awful. I know girls compare us too, I’ve heard them do it. I don’t think Ty believed me when I told him that, but they definitely do.

We talked about work again, because that’s not going to freak her out. She seems to think that Valllindra isn’t involved with the ziggurat, and I hope she’s right. I went out earlier in the day to check on it myself, and the undead guy was still sitting there. I wonder how long it’s going to take for the “Master” to come back. Hopefully, it’ll all turn out to be nothing, but I’d rather be ready if something bad happens. We also talked a little bit about Kalimdor. I don’t really like to remember it. It has to be even worse for her. But then sometimes I think about the way things happened, all the little things that seem like chance but lead you to the same place. Like if I’d never gone to Pandaria, I wouldn’t have been sent to Kalimdor. If Vessen hadn’t died, she wouldn’t be here now. I mean, maybe we’d have known each other, maybe even worked together, but that would have been all. It kind of reminds me of something the bears would have said. I wonder how much of that I should tell her, I mean it’s not something I am proud of. It all happened before we even knew each other, but I don’t want to hide anything either. I guess I’ll tell her if she asks, but so far she hasn’t.

I did ask if she wanted to stay here at the house. That’s partly because it’s really far for her to travel back and forth every time she has her patrol, and because I don’t imagine that living with Lani is much fun. Then again, Lani watches Rylad during Nessna’s patrols. I’m not sure if she’d trust me (or any of the guys) watching him yet. He can’t stay around the building right now while we’re working, it’s too dangerous. It’s just that I really want her to be around more, and obviously I want her to stay the night too. I was really surprised when she agreed to, I thought I’d heard her wrong. Lani is probably going to worry about where she is, but Nessna said it would be okay. So you don’t have to tell me twice. I think about how long it took me to tell Kes that I loved her. It’s not a slight on Kes, because I was a different person then too. A lot has happened between then and now. I was pretty sure before yesterday, now I’m definitely sure. She says she wants to get to know each other better, and I do too, but that won’t change. I feel like she’s still kind of unsure though, so I have to try to be patient. I’m just afraid that something will go wrong again and I’m trying to prevent that. Of course that also means not saying stupid things. So I’ll just keep quiet about that for now.

Since she has early patrol, I told her I’d take over this morning if she wanted. But she was already up and gone when I woke up, so I guess she wasn’t too tired. I think it would take a lot to keep her from her patrol. Maybe today they’ll find the guy at the ziggurat and we can return to our regular patrols, I don’t like leaving the rest of the forest unwatched.

 

Leave a Reply

