[Story] The Ghostclaw – Sath’alor’s Notes

I went to the school to see Nessna, her father was there visiting so he was watching Rylad. That’s probably for the best, babies really shouldn’t be around when people are firing arrows. Though I would like to get a chance to see him sometime, I mean it can’t be that hard to take care of a baby, right? I hope he likes the stuffed lynx, Nessna said he does. She also said that she hasn’t written back because she’s been busy with her father visiting. I hope that’s actually the case and she’s just not wanting to, or she’s showing it around to her friends so they can laugh or anything like that. It’s still a little awkward when we talk because I don’t want to freak her out or anything, and the rare times we are alone I’d rather do things besides talk. She did ask about my cats though, which I liked. I told her about the book I keep, it has maps and notes about where each of them are from. She seemed especially interested in my Eversong lynx, I might have to see if I can find her again. I’d love to be able to take them on a trip to some of those places one day. I’m sure they would like it. Winterspring in particular is very beautiful, though you have to be prepared for the cold. And I don’t think I’d want to bring Rylad to Teldrassil, I doubt the sentinels would find him as cute as we do.

She did agree to come to dinner sometime this week. I’m not sure which day though, so it’s kind of difficult to prepare. I want it to be really nice, of course it won’t be as good as the school’s food, but I told the other guys they’ll have to clear out that evening. I can give them money to take a dragonhawk to Silvermoon and they can go drink or something. They were curious of course, so I just told them. I’m not sure if she’ll be too happy about that, but I think I’d rather they just know outright rather than guess and gossip about it. Besides, there’s nothing to tell just yet. I wish there was of course, but on the other hand I want to wait and make sure everything goes right. It’s hard (hah!) but I know it’ll be better in the long run. Plus I don’t know how she feels about getting too serious so soon after losing her husband. Her father was there at the school, I actually thought about talking to him but I decided it was definitely too soon for that. And it’s not like she needs permission from her father for anything, she’s a grown woman. But still, she might think it was nice? I don’t know. She did mention that he and her mother are splitting up, so maybe it wouldn’t be the best timing. I feel really bad about that, but I kind of know what it’s like to know that no matter how hard you try, it won’t help. Anyway, we should spend more time together first, but I definitely thought about it. I remember Thero saying that I didn’t really love Kes because I wouldn’t do anything for her, at the time it made me really mad but now I think maybe there was some truth to it. I did love her, but I don’t think it was the same. I think I would do anything for them — well mostly anything. If it turns out that Nessna keeps demons in her house, that’s another matter. But thankfully I’m pretty sure I don’t have to worry about that.

Last night Ty and Gaelardrim had a few drinks with me. I asked how things are going. Apparently Ty is staring at Nessna’s backside while on patrol, not sure I like that too much but he says he’s just noticing, not that he’s interested. I don’t know, I don’t stare at the butts of women I don’t like but maybe I’m weird. Anyway, he knows now so maybe he’ll be more subtle about it. Gaelardrim is still arguing with Lin, I told him that if he wanted the fighting to stop he should just say that he was wrong. Not that he actually is — I don’t really care either way — but saying you’re wrong will usually make a woman stop fighting with you. I don’t think he was convinced, but he said he’d think about it. I know she’ll never admit she was wrong, they never do. I told them about maybe having a party once the building is done, but I don’t think Gaelardrim liked that idea either. Man, what’s his problem? I told him he could invite whoever he wanted if he didn’t want the students to come. I thought Ty was trying to flirt with some of them, so it could be a good idea. Then again, if they’re having a ball at the school, there’s no way our little party could compete. I’ll have to talk to Hethurin about that.

One good thing — they’ve found several spots that might have spider nests. We’ll all go together one night and get rid of them all. Sounds like fun, right?

 

Leave a Reply

