[Story] Letter to Isandri

Dear Isandri,

I didn’t know that little babies aren’t able to travel. Do you know when you’ll be able to come? Maybe you could get a portal, does that still count as traveling? I know you said it’s because he might get sick, but he’s not going to get sick at Mother and Father’s house. I’ll even leave Clementine outside, but I know she’s not sick either. She washes herself all the time.

I thought I’d give you an update on the house. It’s nearly finished, we just need to finish up the painting and stuff mostly. There are workers digging the well today, they were supposed to do it a few weeks ago, but I guess they’ve been really busy with other work. That or they know there’s no one else around to do it, and they can take their time. Either way, I’ll be glad to have fresh water finally. I was going to bring Orledin to town to help me pick out curtains and things, but I thought it might not exactly be safe for him, so I ended up asking Hethurin if he wanted to go. Luckily he was free, I know he’s often busy with his classes and grading tests and stuff. Every time I go there, I hardly ever see him. So it was also nice to just get some time to talk, we haven’t done that for a while. He said everything is going well, but he didn’t say too much about school other than that. I guess I wouldn’t understand it anyway. For the house he said that I shouldn’t get any curtains that are too “busy” which means they have a lot of patterns on them, he said I should pick ones with only a few colors and not too fancy. I thought the plain ones were a little boring though. I have no idea what colors are good, I know you have yellow for Iannor’s room and I thought that would be good for a guest room. It’s bright and friendly. He suggested green for my room, but not fel green, more like forest green. I didn’t think so at first, but I found some nice bed linens with green and gold little designs, I’m not good at explaining them but they look very fancy. And for the sitting room I got a blue color, it’s in between sky blue and really dark, it’s kind of the color of really deep water that you can see to the bottom. I hope it’ll all look okay. I need to get furniture too, but I have to wait for the paint to dry before I can do that.

Then we’ll get started on the ranger building. I know everyone’s eager to get working on that. We have the plans all ready, and I think it’s going to be a great building. I made sure there’s enough room for more rangers to come if we get them, which I think we will. More people are moving here every day. I’ve seen two houses along the road that were never lit before, and now are. I’m sure there are more out in the woods, too. I guess the Confessor would probably know who they all are, since he’s lived here a while. And I like the company, but I’ll admit it’ll be nice to have my house to myself finally. I do plan to have people come over and visit though. I guess I’ll mostly stay at the ranger building while we’re working on it, anyway.

Are a lot of people moving away from Shattrath right now? Hethurin just hired a woman at the school who used to work there, but lost her job. I hope Thero’s business is doing okay. I know they plan to visit soon, so maybe they can stop by and give him some business. How big is Iannor? There might be some other news, but I’m not sure yet, so I won’t write it until I know for sure.

~Sath’alor

Leave a Reply

