[Story] The Ghostclaw – Sath’alor’s Notes

There’s really not much to report as of yet. Well, Sorrowmoss mentioned that she’d seen more of the scourged murlocs along the coast. First of all, I had no idea we even had scourged murlocs, why would they bother? I shudder to think how they got that way. Maybe it’s because they’re already pretty gross and dirty. Second, we don’t even patrol that far usually, so I was tempted to tell her not to worry about it, but I do appreciate the information. I remembered that she doesn’t have to rest, so she can travel a lot further than the rest of us (except Orledin, of course). I thanked her for the information and told her I’d put it into my report, so there it is. It’s in my report now.

Otherwise, there isn’t much going on. It’s been too cold for the spiders and it’s even getting a bit too cold for the bats, I think. Several times I’ve seen ice formed across the surfaces of puddles first thing in the mornings, though it tends to melt by mid-day. I can’t wait for the summer. At least when I was in Winterspring, I had a warm fire and a bundle of blankets to sleep in. I guess I should get more for the house. Orledin has been asking me a lot of questions about the little details, things I would never have thought to consider. For example I told him that I wanted wood floors for the main part of the house, but stone for the high-use areas like the entryway and the kitchen. So then he asks me what kind of stone. I don’t know, is there more than one  kind of stone? I suppose there must be, because rocks come in different colors, but it’s really not something I ever put any thought into. In the end I just told him to pick the one that he thought would look best, he has experience with building Lani’s house after all. He also wants to know about the paint colors. I don’t know! Something that looks nice. I’ve never had a house before, I didn’t expect there to be so many tiny details. Maybe I should ask Isandri, that’s something she’d be good at I bet. I keep meaning to write to her, but I’m afraid of what she might say. I guess I’ll just ask if she’s coming here soon, so I can arrange to visit our parents at the same time. Thero can’t possibly say no to that.

I hope there isn’t going to be any trouble with Gaelardrim. We were talking about going up to the school to have dinner in a few days, and also because Ty wants to go talk to Lani or something. That’s another thing that I hope isn’t going to be trouble, most men really don’t like when some other guy comes to visit the girl they are seeing. Anyway, Gaelardrim didn’t want to go which I thought was odd since Tik cooks so well. I mean, my dinner last night was edible and certainly better than the inn, but Tik’s is amazing. Not to mention the cakes. It turns out that he’s worried that Lin might be there and he’s worried that she won’t want him there. He’s got it into his mind that she hates him, because she doesn’t remember him from a party or something. Most likely she was just drunk and is too embarrassed to admit that she doesn’t remember. I told him that they were going to have to work together, as it’s very likely they’ll be assigned together at some point. Gaelardrim assured me it wouldn’t be a problem, but I agree with Ty that it’s probably best if they talk it over and clear things up. If he’s that worried that she hates him, there’s probably a reason. Just as long as I don’t see or hear about it.

Ty said that maybe Lin was just waiting for  Gaelardrim to make the first move. He’s right about that, you have to be assertive and you can’t just wait around or somebody else will do it for you. I’m taking a little break today to take a dragonhawk up to Eversong and get a bottle of wine — good wine, not the stuff they sell down here. It’s a gift, but it’s a perfectly innocent one and I can always say it’s just a get-well present or a housewarming. I still think it’s a bad idea for her to be traveling so much between here and the school, but it’s not like I can invite her to stay here.  That would be a little too obvious. And I’d have to kick the other guys out, which I’m not going to do.

 

Leave a Reply

