[Story] The Ghostclaw – Linarelle’s Journal

I’ve been making my own patrols of the Ghostlands these days. I guess I could go and work on the captain’s house, but I think the men have that under control, and I think it would be kind of awkward. Though I guess I’ll be working with them once we start on the ranger building, but at least Nessna will be there for that. And the new one. I keep forgetting about her because she’s so quiet, like a creepy ghost. I told Nessna that I think the reason she doesn’t talk is that she’s afraid her jaw might fall off. But then Des was like “Orledin’s jaw doesn’t fall off”. I wouldn’t know, I don’t talk to him either.

I think it’s important to get to know the land here though, so I don’t get lost and so I know what we’ll be dealing with. It’s not really so different from Eversong, because it looked like it not so long ago, and you can see the echoes of it everywhere. But it’s a twisted and nightmare version of it, and it makes me sad if I think about it for too long. There is new growth though, small but tenacious, and I know we’re helping the land to recover by making it safe for people to come back again. That’s important to me, otherwise I don’t think I would bother.

Things are looking more bleak than ever. Even Des, the student at the school, has someone now. They keep trying to get me to talk to the weird forgetful guy, but no one has seen him recently. I really hope he didn’t take off anywhere, because he has the plans for the building, and Lani needs him to draw up hers as well. Evidently she keeps pestering Nessna about it, which I think is pretty strange because she’s not a healer and knows nothing about it. She ought to be pestering the Confessor, he’s the one who’s going to be working there. Speaking of, I’m supposed to meet with him again. I didn’t mention that to the others, I guess I’m a little embarrassed about it, but it’s not exactly something I can discuss with Imralion. I don’t know if he can help any, but it’s nice to talk to someone who’ll listen and not try to fix me up with weirdos. Oh, then Des said she could ask if her friend knew anyone. Like that’s not pathetic at all. I don’t think I’d want a guard anyway, they’re like rangers except they can’t actually do anything and they stand around in the city doing nothing.

I did talk to Im though, I was surprised because I thought he’d have left already. I guess Aeramin wanted to stay and do some more work on the house, even though it’s already finished. Im thinks maybe he’s going to change his mind and live there, and kick Aeramin’s father out. I admit I wouldn’t mind that, he’d be a lot closer than Shattrath. He’s concerned though because he said Aeramin was acting a little strange but he didn’t want to bring it up while his father was around. If I had to guess I’d say it was probably related to wanting to stay longer, but I said I really didn’t know. This place grows on you, I think.

Des and Nessna were talking about there being another party soon. They think Hethurin and Terellion are going to get married soon. If they do, I think I’d definitely have to come this time. The inn food is terrible.

Leave a Reply

