[Story] Fairsong Academy – Terellion’s Journal

I’m back at the school now. I only stayed a couple of days at home, not because it was weird or anything, but because I wanted to get back to Hethurin. My mother cried when I told her about the gift that he got for her — the happy kind of crying. But she also said he’s doing too much and she’s worried that I only like him because he has money. That’s not true! I only heard about it a few times though, she also likes to mention that we’re both young. Well, she and Father weren’t very old when they got together, I don’t see how it’s any different. I think when you meet the right person you know pretty soon.

It’s been really nice with the students away — well that sounds kind of mean. It’s not that I don’t like them, I do, but there’s a lot less work to do and we have a lot more privacy. I’ll kind of miss that, though he said they’ll go home over the summer too. I’m not sure about that, I think I’d rather stay at a school this fancy! I was talking to him about going swimming in the river when it gets warmer, I think that would be a lot of fun. We could get a picnic and eat down there on the banks. I was surprised that he doesn’t know how to swim, but I guess if he grew up in the city he probably wouldn’t. I only know because I used to pester my mother to take me out to the woods. Anyway, most of the river isn’t too deep and I told him that I’d help if he wanted to learn. Or we could just stay where it’s shallow, we’d still get cooled off.

Des’s friend from the party came by again, he seems nice. I know it’s not his fault but it kind of upsets me that he’s a guard, like he took my father’s job or something. We saw the posters up when we were in Silvermoon, they’re looking to hire people to replace those who were lost. Like I said, it’s not his fault at all so I try not to let it bother me. But sometimes it does. Des came back early too, I’m not sure why. The others should return tonight, though I’m not sure if Mae will come back. She said she will, because her father paid for the whole year’s tuition, but I know she’s pretty unhappy here. I mean, she is doing well with her classes and I think she likes the Magister and Aeramin, but it can’t be easy. I miss talking to her, I think I’m the only one who does really.

Hethurin and I also talked about magic a little, mostly I’m worried that his future vision didn’t show me, but he said it might not be the real future, and his future self wouldn’t want to tell him about me. It kind of made sense when he explained it, but not really. I wouldn’t be any good at magic. I’m kind of worried about that too, like shouldn’t I at least understand a little if I’m working at a mage school? I also worry that I can’t talk to him about magic when it’s obviously really important to him. He said he doesn’t mind, but sometimes I wonder. I just hope he doesn’t hire any really cute guys to work at the school. He should hire old ladies.

 

Leave a Reply

