[Story] Fairsong Academy – Terellion’s Journal

So Hethurin’s idea to fix everything was to stop paying me and have everyone call me “Master Brightwing”. I don’t like it, it’s weird. If anyone was a Master Brightwing, it would have been my father, but he didn’t even own our house so he certainly wasn’t. He was a guard. It feels like I’m pretending to be something I’m not, I guess that’s really why I don’t like it. I told the students to just call me Terellion, because that’s my name, but I think Hethurin wants them to call me the other thing. I don’t know. As for getting paid, he said I can just take whatever money I need. I haven’t taken any yet, because I don’t need anything. I have enough clothes and I mean, I take money to buy food for cooking but that’s not really the same. He said I could buy more robes if I wanted, but I already have the one and I don’t really think I need more than that. I’m not a mage so I don’t wear robes very often. The only reason I’ll take any money is for Mother’s rent and to help if they need to buy food or something. Maybe some shoes for the girls if they need them, or something like that. I would like to get them some gifts for Winter Veil though, I should ask Hethurin about that.

Another reason I don’t like them calling me that is I think they expect me to do something else. Like I’m not just a person who works here anymore. Des kept saying that I should learn how to do magic. First of all, I wouldn’t be any good at that. I don’t know the first thing about magic. Second, I know it’s really difficult — I’ve seen the students practicing. Then Aeramin was saying that I should go and do training for something, like being a guard or I don’t know what. He said that I should be Hethurin’s equal and that’s why he wants to call me that. And so people won’t gossip about me, I guess. Why do I have to know what I want to do yet? I’m not that old. Most people my age don’t know what they are going to do yet. Why can’t I just work here like I did before? I liked doing that. I wish all these people weren’t trying to tell me what to do with my life.

I did talk to Hethurin about it though and I feel a bit better, at least. He said he wasn’t trying to make me be someone else and it was okay if I still wanted to bake cakes and do things around the house. Which is good, because I planned to anyway. What would I do all day if I wasn’t working? I have no idea. I guess it kind of bothers me that he’s doing all of this because one person doesn’t like it. There’s always going to be people who don’t like what we do, no matter what. We can’t just live our life trying to please them. I know it’s not easy when it’s your own father, though. I really don’t know what my father would have said about the situation. I guess he might not have liked it either.

I still haven’t told Mother, although I think she might kind of suspect something after Hethurin came to my house the other night.  We were in there for quite a while talking, and then I said I felt better and went back with him. Or maybe she doesn’t. I don’t know.

Oh, I have to prepare another classroom, there’s another mage coming to visit who might be teaching here. Hethurin said his wife is a kaldorei. I wonder if he was just trying to play a joke, or if that’s actually true. I’ve never seen one before.

Leave a Reply

