[Story] Sath’alor’s Notes

I thought everything would be better when I came home. Of course, I also expected to return as a hero, not limping home with bandages and bruises. But it seems everything’s back to the way it was before, the only people who care at all about me are my family, but that’s because they have to. Isandri’s gone back to Shattrath and will have her baby soon. It’ll be my first niece or nephew, but I don’t even know if I’ll be able to come visit it. Thero still hates me, for whatever reason. I’m not even with Kes anymore, so he has no reason to. She had to come by the school to make sure I was well aware of that, too. I don’t know why it’s not enough that she already has someone else, but she has the audacity to come here and ask if we can see each other. I asked her what she wanted from me, but she didn’t have an answer. That’s what I thought.

I mean, I have the house, but it’s not even a house yet. It’s just the bones of a house, and there’s a lot of work to do yet. Orledin has started clearing away the trash and dead wood around the foundation, so we can see what exactly we are working with. At the school they made him sleep in the stable. I told him he can sleep inside the house until I move in, I don’t know what will happen after that. Right now it’s still leaking though, so hopefully he’s found a better place to sleep. I don’t know why they treat him so bad. Yes, he’s a little creepy, but he doesn’t smell too weird or anything, and he works hard and doesn’t talk very much. That’s probably why I like him, he’s like a cat in that way. He also doesn’t eat. I usually go to the school for dinner, it’s not far and Tik is a really good cook. Last night there was a young guy there looking for work, and I said I could probably use him on the house. I’m worried about how much it’s going to cost, but I should be able to return to my position with the rangers soon. I think he wanted to work at the school so he could look at Hethurin’s sister, but my house should be close enough. He said he recognized me from the healer’s tent, so he remembers me from screwing up and getting stomped on by a dragon. That’s great. He seems nice enough, if kind of odd. And he talks a lot. Maybe he’ll talk to Orledin.

Clementine loves the forest. That’s enough to prove to me that this is the right thing. She prowls around in the trees and crouches in the bushes. She’s even brought back a few things — they were skeletons though so obviously they couldn’t be eaten, but I appreciate her intent. I’ll have to visit the stable to see if any of the others are still there; by now they’ve probably been released into the forests. If that’s the case, I will have to try to regain their trust — in that regard, I find cats a lot more forgiving than people.

 

Leave a Reply

