[Story] Tathariel’s Journal

It was my birthday not very long ago. Ordinarily I don’t really remember it at all, other than the fact that it’s at the end of the summer. I’ve lost track of how many years ago it was, because it didn’t really matter — or it didn’t used to. I noticed this year because Relanos has got so big. He certainly doesn’t look like a baby anymore, there’s no trying to fool myself into believing that’s true. He’s growing, getting older, and I know that means he’ll eventually ask questions. I think on some level he knows, he tells me that I’m warm. If he’s told Jaellynn that he is cold, he hasn’t mentioned it to me. But I’m sure he probably has.

And none of us knows how many years we might have left. I hope it’s many, but even if it is, Jaellynn won’t change. We’ll grow up and grow old before his eyes, and he’ll be left behind. I knew that back then, of course, but most of the time it’s easy to forget when we’re caught up in ordinary everyday life. It’s only times like my birthday that I remember again. What will become of him? He’ll be all alone eventually, unless of course he finds someone else. I don’t know how I feel about that. I think he’d be happier, but I don’t think he would. I know I wouldn’t.

It was an ordinary day, though Relanos brought me back some flowers from near the lake. There are enough now that it won’t hurt anything to pick a few, though I’m sure Karnum would scold him if he saw it. There’s been news from Durotar; the orc has been captured. I have a feeling the humans had a hand in that. The kaldorei would never permit such a thing. Many had gone to aid in the siege, when I visited Father in Feathermoon, there were only a scant few left behind. The naga haven’t been a threat for some time, so they could afford to leave their posts. Father and Kelanori were permitted to remain at home, as they are caring for Farahlor. He’s not exactly a baby anymore either, but still young enough that having his parents away would be disruptive. The stronghold felt eerie without the sentinels, too quiet. Father says they still haven’t returned, they must be dealing with the remnants of the orc’s forces — or perhaps it isn’t really over after all.

I haven’t brought up the idea of another child since the last time we spoke of it. I want to, but I don’t want him to agree simply because it’s what I want. Maybe he’s right, maybe we should wait until Relanos is older, but I think he’d like a little sibling very much. Of course, they may not even have any right now — but with as much fighting as there’s been recently, there are sure to be orphans. I know that’s an awful thing to think, but I can’t help it. I haven’t been to Astranaar recently, that’s the most likely place that any orphans would be.

Soon it will be winter again, though the glade never really gets as cold as the rest of Desolace. Winter is the time that we met in Darnassus, after my father had left me behind to go to Hyjal. I should wear something nice then. Maybe he’d agree to go look in Astranaar after that.

 

Leave a Reply

